Donald J. Segal is formerly of Aon Hewitt in New York, where, until his retirement, he was a vice president specializing in the analysis, interpretation, and application of laws and guidance as they apply to qualified retirement plans. He was also involved in retirement plan design. Segal is a member of the Society of Actuaries, and is a past president of that group. He has also served as vice president for pensions of the American Academy of Actuaries, and as a member of the Academy Pension Practice Council and Pension Committee (formerly chair of both). He served as chair of the IRS Advisory Committee for Tax Exempt and Government Entities (2001-04) and as a member of the Advisory Committee on Examinations to the Joint Board for the Enrollment of Actuaries (1988-2002). Segal originated and organized the Funding Reform Advisory Task Force, a group of actuaries, lawyers, and other professionals whose purpose was to provide input to the federal agencies responsible for drafting guidance under the Pension Protection Act of 2006. In October 2006, Segal was honored by the Society of Actuaries with the John E. O'Connor Distinguished Service Award in recognition of his volunteer service to the Society of Actuaries and the actuarial profession. He received the Conference of Consulting Actuaries Lifetime Achievement Award in October 2008, and in October 2009 received the Jarvis Farley Service Award from the American Academy of Actuaries in recognition of his service to the American Academy of Actuaries and the actuarial profession. Segal is a member of the Bloomberg BNA Benefits Practice Resource Advisory Board. He is a graduate of Yale University.
Donald J. Segal, FSA