The Payroll Report: Feb. 5 to Feb. 9


 

taxes1

State: 

Vermont employers are to continue to use the state’s 2017 withholding methods in 2018, the state Department of Taxes said Feb. 7 on its website. 

The methods will not be updated this year, the department said. Previously, the 2017 methods were anticipated to be in effect until at least late January 2018 while the 2017 federal tax bill (Pub. L. 115-97) progressed to become law, the department said Dec. 20, 2017, in an email newsletter.

The department offered a plan to offset the effects of the new tax law on the state in a report submitted to the state Senate Feb. 2. Among the plan’s most significant changes, according to the report: the creation of a “Vermont-defined income deduction” of $6,000 for single filers, an amount similar to the 2017 standard deduction level. The plan also would reintroduce a state personal exemption of $4,000.

On Feb. 5, the Maryland Department of Labor, Licensing, and Regulation released a bulletin advising employers to prepare to track sick and safe leave accrual starting Feb. 11, 2018, in the event that a measure to delay implementation until July 1 has failed by then to pass the legislature.

The Maryland Healthy Working Families Act requires employers that have at least 15 employees to offer at least one hour of paid leave for every 30 hours worked. Employers that have fewer than 15 employees must allow unpaid sick and safe leave.

To help employers comply with the act’s requirements, “the department is developing draft guidance documents and model policies, including an extensive Q&A document based on questions received” by the Office of Small Business Regulatory Assistance (OSBRA), the bulletin said, noting that these documents will be emailed to stakeholders and published to the department’s paid leave website. 

Employers may send comments on draft guidance documents and specific implementation questions to the OSBRA at small.business@maryland.gov. Requests for technical guidance have also been received through the email address.

North Carolina is to waive the $50 late-filing penalty for Forms NC-3, Annual Withholding Reconciliation, which were due Jan. 31, 2018, the state revenue department said Feb. 8 on its website.

Puerto Rico released its unemployment-taxable wage base and tax rates for 2018.

Local:

The city of Santa Fe, N.M., hourly minimum wage is to increase March 1, 2018, to $11.40 from $11.09, according to the city’s website.

By Jazlyn Williams 

Take a free trial of Bloomberg BNA’s Payroll Decision Support Network, your one-stop resource for reliable, up-to-date guidance and analysis in every area of payroll administration and compliance.
Follow Bloomberg BNA on Twitter @BloombergBNA and join the Bloomberg BNA U.S. and Global Payroll group on LinkedIn.