The Payroll Report: June 25 to June 29


Here is a roundup of payroll issues occurring in the past week:


A Massachusetts bill (H. 4640) increasing the state’s hourly and tipped-worker minimum wages and implementing paid leave was signed June 28 by Gov. Charlie Baker (R).

Under the measure, the state’s hourly minimum wage is to rise to $15 from $11, and the tipped-worker wage to $6.75 from $3.75, by 2023. The bill eliminates time and one-half pay for work on Sunday, Memorial Day, Independence Day, and Labor Day.

The bill also institutes a program for paid family and medical leave, allowing workers who contribute to the program the ability to take up to 12 weeks of leave in a year to care for a sick family member or bond with a newborn, up to 20 weeks for care for their own medical needs, and up to 26 weeks to address emergencies related to a family member’s military deployment.

Vermont’s income tax rates were adjusted effective for tax year 2018 in the state’s fiscal 2019 budget (H. 16), which was passed by both houses of the state legislature June 25.

The measure established tax rates of 3.35, 6.60, 7.60, and 8.75 percent, compared with the previous rates of 3.55, 6.80, 7.80, 8.80, and 8.95 percent.

The bill also established a state personal exemption of $4,150 and a standard deduction of $6,000 for 2018.

However, Vermont’s tax department was not planning to update its withholding tables for the rest of this year, a spokesman for the department told Bloomberg Tax June 28.

Nevada employers are to electronically file quarterly unemployment tax and wage reports effective July 1, 2018, under a rule approved June 26.

Iowa and Washington’s unemployment-taxable wage bases are to increase for 2019.

Take a free trial of Bloomberg BNA’s Payroll Decision Support Network , your one-stop resource for reliable, up-to-date guidance and analysis in every area of payroll administration and compliance. 

Follow Bloomberg BNA on Twitter @BloombergBNA and join the Bloomberg BNA U.S. and Global Payroll group on LinkedIn