Senate Confirms Academics Peirce, Jackson as SEC Commissioners

Stay up-to-date with the latest developments in securities law through access to both news and all statutes and regulations. Find relevant corporate filings through a searchable EDGAR database. And...

By Andrew Ramonas

Think-tank scholar Hester Peirce and law school professor Robert Jackson secured Senate confirmation for seats on the SEC on Dec. 21, filling out the five-member commission for the first time since 2015.

Peirce, a Republican from George Mason University’s Mercatus Center and Jackson, a Democrat from Columbia Law School, were confirmed by voice vote as the Senate took up a long list of nominations prior to leaving for a holiday recess.

Jackson is director of the Program on Corporate Law and Policy at Columbia, where he helped lead a group of legal academics who petitioned the Securities and Exchange Commission to require companies to disclose their political spending. Peirce is a senior research fellow and director of the financial markets working group at Mercatus, where she has called for the repeal of the 2010 Dodd-Frank Act.

They will join Chairman Jay Clayton, an independent appointed by President Donald Trump, Democrat Kara Stein, and Republican Commissioner Michael Piwowar, who served briefly as acting chair.

Peirce first was nominated to the SEC in 2015, but didn’t receive a Senate floor vote in the past Congress. She was paired at the time with George Washington University Law School professor Lisa Fairfax, a Democrat, whose nomination to the commission also stalled in the Senate.

To contact the reporter on this story: Andrew Ramonas in Washington at

To contact the editor responsible for this story: Phyllis Diamond at

Copyright © 2017 The Bureau of National Affairs, Inc. All Rights Reserved.

Request Securities & Capital Markets on Bloomberg Law