Senate Confirms Worker Safety Review Commission Members

Rely on Occupational Safety & Health ReporterSM for full news coverage and documentation of federal and state workplace safety and health programs, standards, legislation,...

By Bruce Rolfsen

The nominees to fill two vacant seats on the panel that passes judgment on appeals of OSHA citations were approved by the full Senate Aug. 3.

Since late April, the three-member Occupational Safety and Health Review Commission has been with only one commissioner, hindering the panel’s ability to consider challenges to OSHA inspection citations. The commission has also been without a full complement of members since April 2015.

The Senate confirmed attorney Heather MacDougall, a former acting chairwoman and member of the commission, and James Sullivan, who in addition to his private practice served as the management co-chairman of the Occupational Safety and Health Law Committee of the American Bar Association’s Labor Law Section.

A date for their swearing in hadn’t been announced as of Aug. 3.

They will join Commissioner Cynthia Attwood, an Obama administration appointee serving her second term. Before joining the commission in 2010, Attwood spent 30 years as a federal government attorney and administrative law judge.

To contact the reporter on this story: Bruce Rolfsen in Washington at

To contact the editor responsible for this story: Rachael Daigle at

Copyright © 2017 The Bureau of National Affairs, Inc. All Rights Reserved.

Request Occupational Safety & Health Reporter℠