State Tax Snapshot: And the Winner Is...

Each year, Bloomberg BNA presents the Latcham Award for Distinguished Service in State and Local Taxation. The award is named for Franklin C. Latcham, Advisory Board chair and founder of BNA Tax Management's State Tax Portfolio Series.

The 2012 award went to Marilyn A. Wethekam, a partner with Horwood Marcus & Berk Chtd. in Chicago.  It was presented Nov. 29 at a meeting of the Bloomberg BNA Tax Management Multistate Tax Advisory Board in New York City.

At the meeting, prominent state tax practitioners said why they believed Marilyn’s recognition was well deserved.

“Marilyn has demonstrated how effective state tax compliance begins with smart people,” said Paul Frankel, the chairman of Bloomberg BNA’s State Tax Advisory Board and partner with Morrison & Foerster in New York.

Bloomberg BNA Advisory Board member Harley Duncan said “when I was with the Federation of Tax Administrators, I asked Marilyn many times to talk to tax commissioners about state tax issues.” Duncan, a former executive director of FTA who is now with KPMG in Washington, D.C., added that “this is because I knew that she would provide learned, clear, and even-handed explanations that they would understand.”

Marilyn co-chairs Horwood Marcus & Berk’s multistate state and local tax practice. Prior to joining the firm, she developed a deep understanding of complex multistate tax issues while working for the Mobile Oil Corporation and Montgomery Ward & Co.  

She is an author and frequent lecturer before such groups as the Council on State Taxation, Georgetown University Institute on State and Local Taxation, The Paul J. Hartman State Tax Forum and Tax Executives Institute.   

Earlier recipients of the Latcham Award include Richard Pomp, law professor at the University of Connecticut School of Law; Judge Bill Thompson, chief administrative law judge for the Alabama Department of Revenue; Prentiss Willson, former national director of Ernst & Young's State and Local Tax Practice and Procedure; Richard Genetelli, of the Genetelli Consulting Group; Walter Hellerstein, professor of law at the University of Georgia Law School; James Buresh, former national partner in charge of sales and use tax practice for Deloitte and Touche; Jack Cronin, former partner in charge of Deloitte Tax's Multistate Tax Practice; Jean Walker, retired senior manager with Ernst & Young; William R. Brown, first executive director of COST; the late Paull Mines, general counsel with the Multistate Tax Commission; Joanne Garvey, member of Heller Ehrman White & McAuliffe in San Francisco; William Peltz, senior tax counsel for Shell Oil Corp.; Gerald Goldberg, former executive director of the California Franchise Tax Board; California tax attorney John Warren; the late educator and author Jerome Hellerstein; and Eugene Corrigan, first director of the Multistate Tax Commission.

By Steven Roll

Follow us on Twitter at: @SALTax 
Join BNA's
State Tax Group on LinkedIn