VIDEO: FERC Commissioner Cheryl LaFleur Sits Down for Q&A

Bloomberg BNA reporter Rebecca Kern recently sat down for a one-on-one interview with Cheryl LaFleur, commissioner on the Federal Energy Regulatory Commission. 

They discuss the departure this month of Republican Commissioner Tony Clark, which brings the group down to three commissioners--all who are Democrats. In general, the commission is composed of up to five commissioners who are appointed by the president. Commissioners serve five-year terms.

With Clark’s departure, the remaining commissioners are LaFleur, Colette D. Honorable and Chairman Norman Bay. Kern notes that the commission will soon become a female majority and asks LaFleur what she thinks of the state of women in the energy field today.

“I think we are seeing more and more diversity of all types in the groups of people that are progressing into leadership in the energy field, and I think that’s very positive,” LaFleur says.

Catch the whole interview here: